Kale & tahini open sandwich

I really do enjoy making a good-looking lunch, but if I’m running around, or really hungry, or trying to get a lot of things done, I just don’t have the stomach to spend ages making something to eat… Relatable?

That said, I don’t like sacrificing health and taste, so this little guy is a pretty good compromise. Provided you boil and store the kale the morning or even night before, this takes 5 minutes to throw together, and tastes great too.

DSC_0019-001.JPG

My mum dislikes kale because it can be quite bitter if you aren’t careful. So, after I boil my kale, I usually always throw it into a container with a glug of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, just to pacify that mildly face-wrinkling tartness. If you’ve already salted your kale quite generously in the pot, then just add the balsamic vinegar in teaspoon-by-teaspoon. It’s as simple as that – and boiled kale can be kept in the fridge for a couple of days, so it’s a really great thing to keep on hand for rushed lunches.

Regarding the bread, I always try go for 100% rye – or something along those lines. You might end up paying a little more depending on where you get it from, but I mean it when I say that one slice of wholesome bread will keep you full while you’d still be eating another 2 slices of white bread. So, in the long run, you go through less bread, and therefore it’ll last you longer. It’s obviously also healthier, and if you aren’t such a fan of the taste of healthy things, then toppings like these will be you best friend because you hardly taste the rye-ness at all.

Oh, and one last thing: I love tahini, and I don’t get enough excuses to eat it that much, so something like this is absolutely perfect for me. However, if it’s not reeaally your thang, then any unsweetened nut butter should work perfectly fine as well. Enjoy!

dsc_0022-001


Kale & tahini open sandwich 
(dairy-free, vegetarian)

100g boiled kale leaves, in olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing
2 tsp tahini paste (or another unsweetened nut butter)
1 tsp shaven parmigiano-reggiano
2 slices 100% rye bread

(God this is so simple, I don’t know why I’m even writing a recipe, but anyway…)

  • Cut your bread into 2 slices, and lightly toast them if you so wish.
  • Spread with tahini paste, and top with boiled kale leaves. If you want that #rusticaesthetic,  heap them untidily and tag appropriately on your instagram.
  • Garnish with shaven parmigiano, and enjoy feeling good that you’re eating something really really healthy, and really really tasty too.

 

Leave a Reply

