Snowball cookies (vegan)

I stumbled across a really aesthetic YouTube channel a while back, while I was into those ASMR videos that were so trendy not too long ago (for those who don’t know, Automatic Sensory Meridian Response videos consists of people whispering into a hyper sensitive microphone, or making other noises that cause that tingly feeling at the back of one’s neck… it can be quite calming). This creator, in particular, used ASMR filming techniques to augment the experience of watching his cooking videos – which were recorded in high quality, and looked pretty darn tasty as well. Plus he adds a really sweet touch of humour, which makes it hard not to enjoy watching him.

However, what made his channel extra appealing to me was that not only did he often give vegan recipes, but he also used ingredients that weren’t simply “vegan butter” or “vegan gelatin” or some other really expensive, really hard-to-find ingredient.

Instead, he generally uses affordable things that you often have lying around anyway. Sure, a couple of things need to be bought just for that recipe, but if you’re already into vegan, vegetarian, organic, or healthy cooking, then chances are you have most of the ingredients in your pantry anyway.

When I saw he uploaded a Christmas-themed cookie recipe on his channel – so conveniently coinciding with my Christmas-baking spree – I leaped at the opportunity to both add his cookies to my Christmas display, and write a little summin-summin on here to showcase his work and his food, in the hopes of getting him the recognition he deserves. So once you’re done here, please do go give his channel a look, a like, and a subscribe.

dsc_0007

These little balls of delicate peanut-butter snow were so easy to make, and are vegan, therefore dairy-free, which means I can eat them without guilt! If you have a melon baller, then you’ll end up with a uniform batch of the perfect bite-size additions  for any cookie-coffee Christmas bake. I wouldn’t dip them in my coffee, mind you, as they would probably melt instantly – and there’s literally nothing worse than cookies pieces at the bottom of your cup. Ewe.

Also, the “snowball” part of these guys only really makes sense once you try one. Yeah, they might be dusted in icing sugar “to resemble snow,” but the sensation of dropping one into your mouth, and feeling it dissolve and crumble into light, airy melted “snow” is the weirdest, yet most beautiful thing I have ever experienced from a cookie before. I can’t believe I’m talking about a cookie so passionately, but just trust me; you’ll know what I’m talking about when you try one for yourself. I’m not crazy.

dsc_0014

Something I noticed while making these is that the sugar you use can make a difference to your batch of cookies. I knew icing sugar was basically a different kind of sugar entirely, but I never thought that blindly substituting castor sugar and regular sugar for whatever you had available could result in such a different result.

I guess I’ve only done it with cakes, and far more complex cookies, where the sugar kind of falls into the mixture anyway. It might not change the taste in this case, but it affects the heating process of the oil and peanut butter, which in turn can cause a different consistency of your final cookie. I used regular sugar (although the recipe calls for castor), it meant I had to keep the oil and peanut butter on the heat for a lot longer in order to dissolve all the sugar. Before I could add the flour, I had to wait for it to cool down properly, otherwise the dough would’ve started cooking already.

dsc_0025

Also, as I mentioned above, I didn’t have a melon baller. My OCD took a pretty hard knock, and I had to suck it up and roll the balls by hand. Yes, they’re not perfect, and yes, it grinds my nerves a little every time I look at them, and yes, I’m going to buy a melon baller really soon BUT: they still taste good, and I got them even enough for them to bake equally. That’s really what you’re aiming for at the end of the day, so don’t stress (even though identical sizes would’ve looked so cute, dammit…).

dsc_0028

(see, not too bad, right?!)

He uses chopsticks in the video to coat the snowballs in icing sugar. I tried the same, and it works perfectly – well, that’s if you know how to use chopsticks. If you don’t, then maybe just deal with the mess and use your hands, otherwise you might get super duper frustrated and your cookies might take the brunt of whatever comes over you… We don’t want that.

The trick is to coat them almost immediately after they come out of the oven. They can’t be too hot, but if they’re completely cooled down then the icing sugar won’t stick to them very well.

dsc_0036

Lastly, serve them dusted in a final sprinkling of icing sugar! It’ll look like fresh snow, and for some reason icing sugar dusted onto anything makes it look really really professional. Enjoy, and merry Christmas!

dsc_0041

 


 

Snowball cookies
Vegan

110g pastry flour
40g coconut oil
30g peanut butter
30g cane sugar/castor sugar
icing sugar for dusting

  • Preheat your oven to 180ºC/350ºF.
  • Gently melt the coconut oil, peanut butter, and castor sugar in a pot.
  • Once melted, and when not too hot, add the pastry flour and mix together.
  • Use a melon baller to take out even amounts of the dough, and roll them into balls in your hands. Place them on a lined baking tray as you go.
  • Bake the snowballs for around 20 minutes, or take them out once they brown, and the bases begin browning as well.
  • Using chopsticks, dust them in a bowl of icing sugar and plate them onto desired display – do not wait too long for them to cool down, as the icing sugar sticks better while they’re warm. Enjoy!

 


 

Leave a Reply

