Vegan mayonnaise

I won’t lie: I had my doubts about this one.

I eat eggs, so that wasn’t the problem. Rather, I also eat chickpeas and always feel really bad about throwing out the aquafaba (chickpea brine). It is loaded with protein, but doesn’t taste good enough to drink or use in another recipe. When I heard you can use it to make marshmallows and mayonnaise (the former recipe will be coming soon!), I thought I’d give it a shot.

A friend of mine, Jonathan, lent me his handheld electric mixer. I realised that my blender would’ve worked as well, but it’s good to know that one can use both. If the former, the chickpeas just need to be mashed with a fork, but this really is a minor detail.

Ok, here’s the recipe. It says it lasts for a week but I highly doubt this is true considering how good it tastes! Enjoy!


 

Homemade mayonnaise
Vegan

5 tbsp aquafaba
2 tbsp chickpeas
2 tbsp mustard (dijon preferably, but any will work)
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
2 cloves garlic
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup olive oil
pinch of salt
pinch of pepper

  • Throw the aquafaba, chickpeas, mustard, lemon juice, garlic and vegetable oil into a blender and combine until smooth. If you aren’t using a blender, just mash the chickpeas a little before you blend.
  • Add the olive oil, and continue blending until really really smooth. Season with salt and pepper, mix one more time, and move into a jar or bowl – where-ever you are going to store it.
Leave a Reply

